OLD DRY ROAD FARM
P.O. Box 163, 202 Highland Road, Wernersville, PA 19565
The Dundore-Hottenstein farm was homesteaded in the mid-18th Century and was a classic example of Pennsylvania German log construction. It was to be demolished during the construction of a flood control project but was saved, dismantled, and moved to Old DryRoad Farm.
The main house was built about 1842 and was the central building of a complex consisting of a 116 ft. frame bank barn, spring house, log smoke house and a granary which stood on the Union Canal.
A site with topography compatible to the original location was selected and reconstruction began in the spring of 1980.
The first building of the complex to be reconstructed was the main house. The Farm received a Community Development Grant which was used in the first phase of reconstruction.
The remainder of the complex was reconstructed within the next 5 years as funds became available. The integrity and authenticity of the structures were maintained throughout the reconstruction.
The Dundore-Hottenstein Complex became the core of the Old Dry Road Farm Project and serves as a living museum. House furnishings and farm equipment are of the 1840-1880 period when the farm was functioning.
The Essig farmhouse is typical of early 19th Century log contstruction. Prior to the formation of the Old Dry Road Farm Corporation, the house was severly vandalized and required extensive repair to salvage and stabilize the structure. It currently serves as an office and visitors orientation center.
STAUDT FARM & speicher building
The speicher building dates from about 1776.
The Staudt property is a picturesque and well-kept farm with several structures of historical value.
Most notable is a three-level log structure combined with a spring house, which is relatively rare, dating from about 1776 as the original homestead, and late used as a speicher.
The 'speicher' was introduced into Pennsylvania by the Swiss Menonite settlers in the first quarter of the 18th Century. This particular building was used for both food preparation and as storage to keep grain, meal, bread, meat, tools and other items not kept in the main house.
Because of its architectural significance, the Staudt farm has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The farm facility is owned and operated by Old Dry Road Farm, Inc, a non-profit organization. Our mission is to preserve the history of the late 18th and early 19th century farm life and to educate visitors to the way people lived and sustained themselves in that time period.
Some of the buildings are private rental residences. You are welcome to visit, explore, and use the grounds but please respect the privacy of our tenants.
Since the land is part of the Blue Marsh Project, park rules would apply to anyone visiting the area.
General Information: Dick Schuster, 610-574-2786
School Program Information: Heather Yatron, 610-678-3381